DRAWING SPACES / TELLING STORIES: DRAWINGS IN SITU

As the underground rolls me off her tongue into a traffic of busy bodies, I whip out my sketch pad, reach out for my pen, close my eyes, and in a split second, I connect every sound inherent in the Mozart’s violin concerto number 3 in G coursing through my headphones.

Inhale. Exhale. Inhale. Exhale. I open my eyes, all I see at this point … lines.

 

 

In doing the first two drawings, the idea was to capture the consistency in transitions that is constantly playing around me, hence the human figures represented in transparent/ fading lines. Since the London underground and the District Light Rail stations are key entry points into Canary Wharf, it only seemed right to commence detailed documentation of this environment from these points. The last drawing was abandoned due to the intensity of the cold.

 

Leave a Reply

