DRAWING SPACES / TELLING STORIES: DEVELOPMENT : LINE ART + 3D EXPERIMENTS

Rather than follow the typical reportage drawing route, I decided to approach the project from the perspective of  Canary Wharf being an environment that is heavily focused on modernity, with this being evident in its architectural structures and layered scenery. This, in fact is a great mix of both nature and man made objects.

In order to do so effectively, utilising the 3 dimensional effect, while combining it with traditionally hand drawn images thus become key to mirroring the layered effect of man made environments in connection/combination with nature.

I randomly picked a  scene upon visiting canary wharf, and spending at least five hours, I was able to come up with the image below.

32

Upon completing the above drawing on site, I then proceeded home after documenting the scene, as the intention was capture this scene in more detail.

canary wharf 2

While I must say that achieving such painstaking detail was key to actualising the intended vision I had in mind, completing the illustration was most paramount and very fulfilling. The next stage involves cut-outs to create depth and a 3dimensional impression.

unspecifiedQ1W8DA07

 

unspecifiedX4YLZGY3

 

unspecifiedYPOS8VDY

 

unspecifiedKHXMIHE3

 

unspecifiedHPOKWRHF

 

unspecifiedJQZFLC7U

 

unspecified5JZK6D31

 

And after a few days of toiling to see what the outcome of my proposed sample would look like, I finally crossed the finish line.

unspecifiedMXQN73Q2.jpg

While I must say that I like the direction weeks of research seem to be pointing me to, it must also be noted that I don’t yet know conclusively what the final object will be. I’m torn between drawing inspiration from the beautifully mounted and framed 3d paper art of Calvin Nicholls, window display pieces, or just corporate display objects which could serve as souvenirs.

Leave a Reply

